LibGuides: The Underwood Library: English

GENERAL DATABASE RESEARCH

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
The GVRL/Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature offers a comprehensive resource for the study of literature. Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom, this database includes thousands of critical essays and discussion questions and more!
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center is a research-focused literary destination, providing students, academics and researchers authoritative and relevant results on demand.
Gale Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Open EBSCOhost - Click on "Literary Reference Center Plus" then click "Continue"
Salem Online (Literary Criticism) This link opens in a new window
Literary Criticism: Critical Surveys, Literary Context
Critical Insights: Books, Themes, Authors
This is a digitized version of these print sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, research reports, and primary sources.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Gale, All Databases This link opens in a new window
Gale provides libraries with original and curated content, as well as the modern research tools that are crucial in connecting libraries to learning, and learners to libraries.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

Google Scholar

Quick Links

You must log into Google with your EHS email.

Other databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Information includes core subjects areas.
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Academic research for publications from across the disciplines. It provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text.
Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals including The Economist, The New York Times: images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of news articles, magazines, books, academic journals, images and video that support general interest research and exploration.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window

JRR - Words you should know!

Citations: In order to give credit to an author for a quote, paraphrase and ideas, students need to set up a formal MLA citation. Using NoodleTools will give you a good quality citation, EVERY time.

Works Cited: According to MLA style, you must have a Works Cited page at the end of your research paper.

"...the list titled ‘Works Cited’ identifies the sources you borrow from—and therefore cite—in the body of your research project” (MLA Handbook 20).

Works Consulted: This list includes ALL the articles you read in order to find your these/write your paper.

For example: IF YOU USED ALL the articles you read to help you write your paper, then the Works Cited and Works Consulted list WILL BE THE SAME. If you READ more articles than you used in your paper, the Works Consulted list will have MORE citations

Annotated Bibliography: An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Anthology: "a collection of selected literary pieces or passages...." A book with articles about a common topic: Novels for Students, Poetry for Students. Short Stories for Students.