LibGuides: English 3H: Junior Research: Home

Research Databases

Gale eBooks
The GVRL/Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, research reports, and primary sources.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Provides students, academics and researchers with authoritative, relevant results on literature, analysis and criticism.
Bloom's Literature (Infobase)
Bloom’s Literature offers a comprehensive resource for the study of literature. Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom, this database includes thousands of critical essays and discussion questions and more!

Known Issues and Work Arounds for Your Works Cited

Here are a few known issues with exporting citations from databases into NoodleTools:

1. Titles of books are italicized--even if the book title appears within the article title. Double check your citations and change this manually. We recommend you change it in NoodleTools so you do not have to fix it every single time you export from NoodleTools into a Word Document.

2. Scan your citations for things that do not look correct:

<i> If this appears in your exported document, there is a glitch in the Matrix.

This is an html command to italicize a book title that didn't work--most likely when exporting from the database into NoodleTools.
The "tweak citation manually" button allows you to fix to take it out and manually italicize your book title.

Title Case: Citations should not be in ALL CAPS. Change to title case.

3. Check the formatting of your exported document against the sample provided by the teacher and make changes accordingly.

Google Scholar

The Google Scholar cite button is on the results page under the result. Instructions/job aide linked here.

More Research Databases

Gale Academic OneFile
Articles with over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources for core subject areas.
Gale Super Search - Most Literature Databases
Gale Literature Criticism Online
A wide collection of scholarly and popular commentary on literature, history, and culture.
Salem Online (Literary Criticism)
Literary Criticism: Critical Surveys, Literary Context
Critical Insights: Books, Themes, Authors
This is a digitized version of these print sources.

Quick Links

You must log into Google with your EHS email.

MLA Citation Guides

Purdue Owl MLA Guide
Purdue University's online writing lab for MLA formatting and style.

Sora eBooks!

Sora eBooks and Audiobooks
Use 6-digit student ID

Database Tips and Tricks

Be patient with yourself and the process. Give yourself grace. Effective, scholarly research takes time and practice.
Keep track of your sources and citations. Stay organized with NoodleTools, folders, and naming conventions.
Notice the citations and references in articles. Source citations lend credibility and can lead to additional, relevant articles.
Click the “full text” box to find the full article. Nothing is more frustrating than finding the perfect article only to discover you can't access it.
Use filters intentionally. Sort by publication date, source type, subject, and whatever you find useful.
Make lists of keywords search terms as you go, adding more as you learn more. Brainstorm synonyms.
Be specific but not too specific! Narrow or broaden terms when you’re not getting the best results. Use AND, OR, NOT to combine or refine keywords. Put phrases in quotation marks.
Academic journals are the gold standard. The more peer-reviewed, the more reliable.
Leverage database features such as suggested topics, similar articles, text-to-speech, citation tools, and annotation tools.

Librarian

Traci Marlowe

Email Me