LibGuides: History, WH2 Imperialism: Home

Information

Use a variety of keyword searches! Use Britannica Academic first!

Imperialism, New Imperialism	Causes of imperialism
Britain AND Sudan	Scramble for Africa
Leader of the country/area	European Imperialism

Looking up a person, use Gale In Context: Biography.

Look up images on the databases!!!!!

All of the terms for your worksheet can be found in the DATABASES!

ANSWER: WHO? WHAT? WHEN? WHERE? WHY? HOW? SIGNIFICANCE?

Quick Links

You must log into Google with your EHS email.

Finding Images - Look here!

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Modern World History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
World Factbook (CIA) This link opens in a new window

Articles to look at

Imperialism - Gale eBooks
Book: Political Theories for Students
PDF Version
Sudan and South Sudan - Gale eBooks
From: Worldmark Modern Conflict and Diplomacy
(Vol. 2: Japanese Invasion of China to Yugoslav Wars. )
PDF Version
1900s (1900-1910) - Gale in Context: US History
From: Gale U.S. History Online Collection
PDF Versions
Hawai'i - Gale in Context: US History
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
PDF Version
Empire and Imperialism: Europe - Gale in Context: World History
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. 2005
Notes: Great Britain
PDF Version
Africa: British Colonies - Gale in Context: World History
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
PDF Version

Useful DATABASE Resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
NEW! Tap into Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, plus other reliable research sources. Contributors include eminent scholars, experts, Nobel laureates, and world leaders.
Modern World History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books. Includes images.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
The GVRL/Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
World Factbook (CIA) This link opens in a new window
Website: The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.