LibGuides: History, WHAP: Country Project: Home

Suggested start to your research process

Start with CIA World FactBook - Get all the updated information about your country.
Read through the history of your country in Britannica Academic - Look for Features, Regions, Cities, Major Events and Eras
Make an outline of things you can talk about. USE your AP Themes
Look through the PRINT RESOURCES for your country - Choose a topic you found in Britannica Academic to look up.
Do you need more information about a person, go to Gale Biography
Do you need information about an event, go to Gale World History and Modern World History (Infobase)
Religion? Go to Gale eBooks and search your country in the "History Collection" section
Go to the UNESCO website to see which sites in your country have been protected by this organization. Why were they chosen?
Go to Gale Opposing Viewpoints and look under "War and Diplomacy" section and/or look up your country.
Use Gale Opposing Viewpoints for any issues in your country.
Use the United Nations: Human Development Reports website to find other statistics about your country

Databases

Britannica Academic
NEW! Tap into Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, plus other reliable research sources. Contributors include eminent scholars, experts, Nobel laureates, and world leaders.
Modern World History (Infobase)
Hint: Use the keyword search "Timeline" to find events for country.
Gale in Context: World History
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
Gale In Context: Biography
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books. Includes images.
Gale eBooks
The GVRL/Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
World Geography and Culture Online (Infobase)
Use this for your initial research.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Formerly titled: Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Salem Online
An authoritative source for your literature and history needs.

Websites

World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Travel Advisories (U.S. State Dept.)
Look up the travel advisory for your country.
UNESCO World Heritage Convention
The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity.
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Danger
New York Times
24/7 Access! Sign up for an account - Under "Library Services"
NoodleTools Template: Website, Webpage
BBC News (The British Broadcasting Corporation)
The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) is the world's leading public service broadcaster. Its mission is to enrich people's lives with programs that inform, educate and entertain.
Reuter's
Reuters is the world’s largest international multimedia news provider reaching more than one billion people every day. Reuters provides trusted business, financial, national, and international news to professionals.
CNN (Cable News Network)
CNN.com is among the world's leaders in online news and information delivery. CNN.com relies heavily on CNN's global team of almost 4,000 news professionals.
World Press (World Newspapers and Magazines)
Worldpress.org is a nonpartisan magazine whose mission is to foster the international exchange of perspectives and information. They are committed to offering readers a first-hand look at the issues and debates that occupy the world's newspapers and magazines.
United Nations: Human Development Reports
The list of countries shows only countries with the available Human Development Indicators (HDI) values. The UN keeps a number of statistics on health, income, and other key metrics.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Wall Street Journal
Username: ehslibrary@ehshouston.org
Password: WSJ#1983
The Economist
Username: jsucci@ehshouston.org
Password: Underwood2024

NOODLETOOLS!

Click on the picture above to access NoodleTools. LOGIN USING THE MICROSOFT 365 LOGO

DID YOU KNOW?

"Noodle" is a slang term for the mind or brain, as in the expression "use your noodle." So, "NoodleTools" = "Brain Tools" (or "Smart Tools").

Thus their slogan, "Smart Tools. Smart Research."

History, WHAP: Country Project: Home

Suggested start to your research process

Databases

Websites

NOODLETOOLS!

PASSWORDS - Off Campus Usage