English III: Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro: English/Junior Research

1. Open the Novels for Students citation for Never Let Me Go
2. Under Chapter/Section part of the template: 

Add:

• Author Name
• Article Title,, change to:  Criticism [title]Never Let Me Go[/title]

DONE! - Click SAVE

For ALL of the authors EXCEPT Bryan Aubrey

1. Set up a NEW citations for the Never Let Me Go article
2. Go into the NEW citation
3. Change the TEMPLATE - go to the top: Change BOOK to "ANTHOLOGY/COLLECTION". Change CHAPTER/SECTION  to RERINT/EXCERPT Journal Article
4. NOW, go to the section of the template labeled: Journal Article 
5. Go to your article: Look at the END of the literary criticism article you read - Look for the citation information
6. INPUT ALL of this information into the template in this section. 

• Author Name
• Article Title
• Journal Title
• Volume number, Issue Number 
• Date published

YOU ARE DONE! Click SAVE

Literary Criticism

Siddartha Deb, “Lost Corner,” in New Statesman, Vol. 18, No. 849, March 7, 2005, p. 55.

Brooke Allen, “The Damned and the Beautiful,” in New Leader, Vol. 88, No. 2, March-April 2005, pp. 25–27.

Claire Messud, “Love's Body,” in Nation, Vol. 280, No. 19, May 16, 2005, pp. 28–31.

Cynthia Grenier, “The Harvest Season,” in Weekly Standard, Vol. 10, No. 40, July 4–11, 2005, p. 35.

Source: Valerie Sayers, “Spare Parts,” in Commonweal, Vol. 32, No. 13, July 15, 2005, pp. 27–34.

Philip Hensher, “School for Scandal,” in Spectator, Vol. 297, No. 9212, February 26, 2005, pp. 32–33.

Please IMPORT the following databases into your NoodleTools project. Do NOT copy and paste.

• All Gale Databases
• All Infobase Databases
• EBSCO
• JSTOR

The EXPORT option for EBSCO databases does NOT provide a correct citation

EBSCO /EBSCOhost Platform - Database: Literary Reference Center Plus 

See the HOW TO VIDEOS on this page to fix the template and make a correct citation. 

Citations: In order to give credit to an author for a quote, paraphrase and ideas, students need to set up a formal MLA citation. Using NoodleTools will give you a good quality citation, EVERY time. 

Works Cited: According to MLA style, you must have a Works Cited page at the end of your research paper. THIS INCLUDES ALL of the citations you used in your paper. 

• "...the list titled ‘Works Cited’ identifies the sources you borrow from—and therefore cite—in the body of your research project” (MLA Handbook 20). 

Works Consulted: This list includes ALL the articles you read: Those you used AND did not use. 

• For example: IF YOU USED ALL the articles you read to help you write your paper, then the Works Cited and Works Consulted list WILL BE THE SAME. If you READ more articles than you used in your paper, the Works Consulted list will have MORE citations

Annotated Bibliography: An annotated bibliography is a list of your citations INCLUDING a descriptive and evaluative paragraph about the source, the annotation. This is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. The purpose of the annotation is to help you refer back to important information you might include in your paper. 

Anthology: "a collection of selected literary pieces or passages...." A book with articles about a common topic: Novels for Students, Poetry for Students. Short Stories for Students. 

Indirect source example: (From MLA Style Guide)

Original authors (or indirect source - who your authors are quoting): Botan and McCreadie

Your authors (or secondary source - where you found quote): Kizza and Ssanyu

In-text citation example:

Researchers Botan and McCreadie point out that “workers are objects of information collection without participating in the process of exchanging the information” (qtd. in Kizza and Ssanyu 14).

Works Cited

Kizza, Joseph Migga and Jackline Ssanyu.“Workplace Surveillance.”  Electronic Monitoring in the Workplace: Controversies  and Solutions. Ed. John Weckert. Idea Group Pub, 2005. Hershey, PA.

You will have to FILL OUT THE TEMPLATE in NoodleTools for a website. 

TEMPLATE: Website  --> Webpage

Add the following into the template, if you can locate the information on your website. 

In order of the template: 

1.  Add URL
2. Date of Publication (year) 
3. Most recent date of access (when you accessed the website)
4. Author(s) Name(s)
5. Article Title
6. Title of the Website
7. DONE!!!! 

In the NoodleTools template: 

If the title of an article has the title of a BOOK you must use this to italicize it in the citation

[title] [/title]

NO ALL CAPS

WRITTEN on THE FACE

FIX: Written on the Face

“THE TYRANNY OF PURPOSE: RELIGION AND BIOTECHNOLOGY IN ISHIGURO’S ‘NEVER LET ME GO.’”

FIX: The Tyranny of Purpose: Religion and Biotechnology in Ishiguro’s [title]Never Let Me Go[/title]

“‘LOOK IN THE GUTTER’: INFRASTRUCTURAL INTERIORITY IN <em>NEVER LET ME GO</Em>

Fix: Look in the Gutter: Infrastructural Interiority in [title]Never Let Me Go[/title]

“NEVER LET ME FINISH: ISHIGURO'S INTERRUPTIONS.”

FIX: Never Let Me Finish: Ishiguro’s Interruptions

“Never Let Me Go”

FIX: [title]Never Let Me Go[/title]