LibGuides: English Short Stories: Poe, Oates: Home

Information

Please IMPORT the following databases into your NoodleTools project. Do NOT copy and paste.

All Gale Databases
All Infobase Databases
EBSCO
JSTOR

Did the AUTHOR of the article quote ANOTHER SOURCE?

Indirect source example:

Original authors (or indirect source - who your authors are quoting): Botan and McCreadie

Your authors (or secondary source - where you found quote): Kizza and Ssanyu

In-text citation example:

Researchers Botan and McCreadie point out that “workers are objects of information collection without participating in the process of exchanging the information” (qtd. in Kizza and Ssanyu 14).

Works Cited

Kizza, Joseph Migga and Jackline Ssanyu.“Workplace Surveillance.” Electronic Monitoring in the Workplace: Controversies and Solutions. Ed. John Weckert. Idea Group Pub, 2005. Hershey, PA.

Articles

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
The GVRL/Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature offers a comprehensive resource for the study of literature. Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom, this database includes thousands of critical essays and discussion questions and more!
Gale Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.

"The Tell-Tale Heart"

"The Tell-Tale Heart" (Wilson and Lazzari)
Short Stories for Students, Gale eBooks
Edited by Kathleen Wilson and Marie Lazzari
How to Write about 'Tell Tale Heart' (Susan Amper)
Bloom's Literature
From: Bloom's How to Write about Edgar Allan Poe
Moral Insanity or Paranoid Schizophrenia: Poe's 'The Tell-Tale Heart' (Zimmerman)
Brett Zimmerman
Gale Literature Criticism
Poe, Edgar Allan (1809—1849). - (Prida, Jonas)
Gale eBooks
From: American Writers, Retrospective Supplement 3
Prida, Jonas

"Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been"

"Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?" (Wilson
Editor: Kathleen Wilson
Gale eBooks, Short Stories for Students
"Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?" (Nyikos)
Bloom's Literature
Author: Nyikos, Susan
"Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?" (Snodgrass)
Bloom's Literature
From: Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature, Second Edition
"Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?” (Wilson and Moss)
Historical time period when this story was written.
Gale eBooks.
Authors: Moss, Joyce, and George Wilson
"Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?" (Werlock)
Bloom's Literature
Author: Werlock, Abby H. P.
Joyce Carol Oates’s 'Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?' as Pure Realism (Coulthard)
Bloom's Literature
From: Joyce Carol Oates, New Edition
By: A. R. Coulthard

Oates and Poe

Short Stories: Quotations or Italics????

Quotations

Short stories are in quotation marks when you write it in a paper AND in your citation.

EXAMPLES:

"Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?"

"The Tell-Tale Heart."

EXCEPT....

IN THE TITLE OF AN ARTICLE: If the name of the short story is INCLUDED in the title with other words

PUT the short story in SINGLE QUOTATIONS

EXAMPLES:

How to Write about 'The Tell-Tale Heart'

Illness in 'The Tell-Tale Heart'

Joyce Carol Oates’s 'Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?' as Pure Realism

Citing a Website?

You will have to FILL OUT THE TEMPLATE in NoodleTools for a website.

TEMPLATE: Website --> Webpage

Add the following into the template, if you can locate the information on your website.

In order of the template:

Add URL
Date of Publication (year)
Most recent date of access (when you accessed the website)
Author(s) Name(s)
Article Title
Title of the Website
DONE!!!!