History, World War II : Home

Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

The GVRL/Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

An authoritative source for your literature and history needs.

Search "Tuskegee Airman"

NEW! Tap into Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, plus other reliable research sources. Contributors include eminent scholars, experts, Nobel laureates, and world leaders.

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

The GVRL/Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.

American Indian History offers fast access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. This comprehensive database allows for an interactive, multifaceted look at the indigenous peoples of the Americas.

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books. Includes images.

An authoritative source for your literature and history needs.

Primary Sources including Images.

Gale and the Smithsonian have partnered researchers a look behind the glass of the Smithsonian exhibits and collections. Collections Online delivers primary source content that's essential for today's researcher. The digitized materials within Smithsonian Collections Online span multidisciplinary topics for both research and education, including:
Evolution of Flight, 1784-1991. Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry. World’s Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow. Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive

The Library of Congress digital collections are largely, though not exclusively, focused around the documentation of American history and creativity, providing free and open access: Digital Collections, Photos, Prints, Drawings, Maps, 3D Objects, Newspapers, Maps, Periodicals, Films, Videos.

Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 contains every page of every issue of Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody, published from 1924 to when publication ended in 1950.
This easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable resource brings students and faculty 26 years' worth of 20th century art, stories, articles and advertisements offering valuable insight into Depression Era and World War II America.

Library of Congress, Primary Source: Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Look up World War II and other keywords for your topic!

An authoritative source for your literature and history needs.