LibGuides: History, WH2: The Cold War: Home

Need Help?

Articles? Information? Citations?

Go to our Library Assistance Team. Post a question anytime! We are here to help!

When using DATABASES from home you will need a password!

For access to EHS databases click here.

Images

Look for images on the databases!

Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress digital collections are largely, though not exclusively, focused around the documentation of American history and creativity, providing free and open access: Digital Collections, Photos, Prints, Drawings, Maps, 3D Objects, Newspapers, Maps, Periodicals, Films, Videos.

Databases

All Gale Database citations can be imported INTO NoodleTools.

Gale in Context: World History
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
Gale In Context: U.S. History
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Gale eBooks
The GVRL/Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Smithsonian Primary Sources in US History (Gale)
Primary Sources including Images.
Smithsonian Collections Online (Gale)
Gale and the Smithsonian have partnered researchers a look behind the glass of the Smithsonian exhibits and collections. Collections Online delivers primary source content that's essential for today's researcher. The digitized materials within Smithsonian Collections Online span multidisciplinary topics for both research and education, including:
Evolution of Flight, 1784-1991. Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry. World’s Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow. Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive
Britannica Academic
NEW! Tap into Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, plus other reliable research sources. Contributors include eminent scholars, experts, Nobel laureates, and world leaders.
Modern World History (Infobase)
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.

Online Information and Primary Sources

PBS Series This page has links to two terrific PBS series: The Cold War: From Yalta to Malta; and The People's Century. Lots of first hand and eyewitness accounts.

CIA Cold War Collection from the Reagan Years

CIA Historical Collections: Declassified Agency documents on various topics in international intelligence, foreign policy, Cold War, etc. (Central Intelligence Agency)

Cold War Collections of Documents from The Wilson Center : This is the easiest to use and most complete of the online collections.

Cold War Files - tremendous collection of archival documents on the Cold War era from the once secret archives of former communist countries.

Cold War Museum: A good source for event summaries, photos, maps and other illustrations

Cold War Origins Documents from the Wilson Center

Cold War Primary Sources from the National Archive

Economic Cold War Documents from the Wilson Center

End of the Cold War Documents from The Wilson Center

Harvard Cold War Document Archive

Harvard Cold War Studies Nuclear Test: Videos and Documents With videos of nuclear tests

Historic Films from British Pathe: Search Your Topic- newsreels and more

History Sourcebook: Fordham's History Sourcebook is a great place to get started. Lots of links to really high quality websites

Intelligence Operations in The Cold War from Wilson Center

Library of Congress Historic Newspaper Collections: You will need to search Cold War topics within the page.

National Security Archive: You will need to do a search on the top right corner of the page for "Cold War"

Origins of the Cold War: Open Access Primary Sources: by Amy Dye-Reeves, College & Research Libraries News. This column links out to dozens of important source collections related to various aspects of the Cold War.

Prague Spring Archive: "An online portal for the Prague Spring archival materials within Texas Scholar Works and the LBJ Presidential Library." (Univ. of Texas at Austin)

Duck and Cover

MLA 8 Citations

Click on the image to access NoodleTools

OWL Purdue - Online Writing Lab Purdue University

In-text citations/parenthetical citations and citing sources assistance