LibGuides: History, WHAP: Monumental Architecture: Home

Resources including Databases

DATABASE PASSWORDS
FOR HOME USE.
NoodleTools
MLA (MLA Handbook,9th ed.- NEW)
APA (APA Publication Manual, 7th ed.)
Chicago/Turabian (Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed.)

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
NEW! Tap into Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, plus other reliable research sources. Contributors include eminent scholars, experts, Nobel laureates, and world leaders.
Ancient and Medieval History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions. IMAGES.
Gale in Context World History This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
The GVRL/Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals including The Economist, The New York Times: images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Modern World History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.

UNESCO: *World Heritage List
UNESCO is the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. It seeks to build peace through international cooperation in Education, the Sciences and Culture. UNESCO's programmes contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals defined in Agenda 2030, adopted by the UN General Assembly in 2015. INCLUDES IMAGES.
World History Encyclopedia
Quality Online Encyclopedia. You can use Website - Webpage template in NoodleTools.
UNESCO - YouTube
World Monument Foundation
The World Monuments Watch, a global program launched in 1995 on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of World Monuments Fund, aims to identify imperiled cultural heritage sites and direct financial and technical support for their preservation. Includes IMAGES.
Lonely Planet: Europe
Information about your site and local websites available.
Fodor's Travel Destinations
Information about your site and local websites available.
Google Arts and Culture
Images for your assignment.
New York Times
24/7 Access! Sign up for an account - Under "Library Services"
NoodleTools Template: Website, Webpage
BBC News (The British Broadcasting Corporation)
The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) is the world's leading public service broadcaster. Its mission is to enrich people's lives with programs that inform, educate and entertain.

Gale In Context Biography This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books. Includes images.

Citing a website

Citing a website?

Use the NoodleTools template: Choose “website” then choose “webpage”
Add the information you are given in the article to the template.
- URL, Title of Website, Title of Article, Author, Date Published, Access Date (Today’s date)
- NO publisher

Citing UNESCO

Citing UNESCO World Heritage List: UNESCO

NOODLETOOLS - Template: Website - Webpage

URL - Yes.

Date of Publication: Year... look at the end of the article for the most recent publication date. If a date is not there THEN find the COPYRIGHT symbol and use the most recent year.

Date of Access - YES. The day you access it for the first time.

Section 2: Webpage

Role - SKIP, none listed.

Web page or document/article: The name of your country and the title of the article.

EX: Peru: City of Cuzco

English Translation of Article’s Title - SKIP

Section 3: Website

Name of Website: UNESCO World Heritage Centre

Publisher of the cite - SKIP

Editor - SKIP

Edition, Version, Revision SKIP ALL

Research

Directions: Research the important aspects and significance of your subject. Create a bibliography for your sources in NoodleTools. In your research, you must collect the following sources:

1 print sources from the library
2 electronic sources from the LibGuide sources
2 additional online sources located using a search engine
- The UNESCO World Heritage site is required for all students
Note: You may use additional resources, if necessary, but they must also be included in your bibliography.
Use NoodleTools.

Search Tips

More than one word? Add quotes to narrow your results.

"Dome of the Rock"

Boolean Search: Add the words AND, NOT, OR to narrow your search results. (Use all caps)

Rome AND Coliseum

Alternate Spellings: Be sure to write down alternate spellings for the sites you are researching.

For example:

Peterhof Palace OR Grand Peterhof Palace OR Peterhof State Museum
A castle in Syria appears as both "Krak des Chevaliers" and "Crac des Chevaliers".
"The Golden Pavilion" and its Japanese name "Kinkakuji" or "Kinkaku-ji"
Longmen Grottoes: Also use Lung-men Caves
Coliseum or Colosseum
Selimiye or Suleymaniye Mosque (Ottoman Empire/Turkey)
Databases will help! Don't just Google when you have great resources on the databases and UNESCO
Temple of the Sun or Intí Cancha

Importing citations

Please IMPORT the following databases into your NoodleTools project. Do NOT copy and paste.

All Gale Databases
All Infobase Databases
EBSCO
JSTOR

Citing others

Britannica Academic Database

Open a template for NoodleTools: Database --> Reference.

Copy and paste the citation into QUICK CITE! at the top of the template.

History, WHAP: Monumental Architecture: Home

Info