Skip to Main Content
site header imageOpen M-Th: 7:30am - 4:30pm
F: 7:30am - 4:00pm

Religion, Old Testament: Prophets: Home

Prophets Assignment

Old Testament Prophets Research

 

From the list below, you and a partner choose one prophet.

Research the person using three sources through the EHS library. Use at least one print source and at least one database.

Plan a presentation to the class about the person.

Here are some ideas on what to cover.

  • When & where did they live?
  • How do they fit into the overall history of the OT?
  • Tell their story, both biographical and prophetical.
  • Give themes of their prophecy if that is appropriate, or explain what can be learned from them.
  • For what are they remembered?

 

EACH PARTNER should write a short paper (2-3 pages) summarizing the questions above AND both partners should create one PowerPoint presentation (7-10 slides) to present together in class.  Font much be 12 point TImes New Roman and double-spaced with 1.25 margins. 

 

Turn in an accurate hard-copy bibliography.  

1. If you use NoodleTools for books select the "print, or in-hand", and second select "anthology" for your template.  

2.  If you use NoodleTools for a database source select "database" first and then "anthology" second for your template. 

Of course there are always exceptions to the 2 above examples, but those 2 templates will cover many situations. 

From the Bible:

Zechariah

Malachi

Ezra

Nehemiah

Isaiah

Jeremiah

Ezekiel

Jonah

Citing Britannica Online

 

NOODLETOOLS TEMPLATE: CHOOSE: DATABASE ---> REFERENCE SOURCE (The ONLY time you use this template) 

FIRST SECTION: Database

Choose: E-publication (born digital) 

Database Publisher/Vendor: Encyclopedia Britannica

Date of publication: MM/DD/YY (Look at the “Cite” button) 

URL - SKIP

Most recent date of access – click “Today”

SECOND SECTION: Article/Entry

Authors of Article/Entry: Look at the bottom of your article: Some articles have the authors listed. Type in ALL author names. 

Article/entry title: What is the title of your article?

THIRD SECTION:  Reference Source: 

Contributors: SKIP

Type of reference source:  Encyclopedia

Title of encyclopedia: Britannica School

Edition: SKIP


Examples – Final Citation for Britannica School

Ames, Roger T. Confucius. Britannica School. Encyclopedia Britannica, 20 May 2009. Accessed 16 Nov. 2018.

 

"Elizabeth II." Britannica School, Encyclopedia Britannica, 30 July 2018. Accessed 16 Nov. 2018.

Databases

NoodleTools

Citing OXFORD Biblical Studies online.

NoodleTools Template: Choose Database  --> Religious Work. 

Name of the database: Oxford Biblical Studies Online 

URL - SKIP

Most recent date of access: click "today" 

Section: Religion Work 

Role: SKIP

Title of religious work or multivolume work: Example:  Commentary on Amos 9:11-15

Click on: "Citing a Bible" 

Bible Version: Choose "NRSV" 

Title of Volume: SKIP

Volume: SKIP

Total # of volumes: SKIP 

Publisher: Oxford UP

Year 2009

FINAL Citation:

Commentary on Amos 9:11-15. New Revised Standard Version, Oxford UP, 2009. The
     New Oxford Annotated Bible. Oxford Biblical Studies Online. Accessed 28
     Nov. 2018.

 

How to collaborate with NoodleTools

PRINT BOOKS

Citing your print source

Citing your PRINT source:

Use the NoodleTools Template: Choose PRINT –> Anthology/Collection

 

First Section: Story, Essay… All about the article. 

Contributor to the specific work: Author name(s) 

Title of specific work: Title of the article

Year specific work was originally authored or published: SKIP

 

Second Section: Anthology/Collection, All about the book. 

Pages of the work in the anthology: page numbers for your article

Contributors to the anthology as a whole: Editor, if identified. 

Title of Anthology: The title of the book the article is in. ex: Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature. 

Title of volume: SKIP

Volume: the number of the volume, if identified. 

Total number of volumes: SKIP

Publisher: Yes. ex: Facts on File. 

Year: publication year. 

Publication city: SKIP

Edition: 1st, 2nd, rev. 

Series Name: If identified. ex: Great Events in History

Citing the GVRL and Biography in Context

 

You can EXPORT the citation from a Gale database into NoodleTools

  1. Click “Citation Tools” 
  2. Choose “NoodleTools” Click “Export” 
  3. Choose your project and click “Import References”
  4. Refresh your NoodleTools tab to access the new citation. 
  5. Check the template to edit errors. (below: bold or strikethrough show errors) 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) and Gale Biography in Context

"Hatshepsut." Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale, 1998. Biography In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/K1631002894/BIC?u=tlc041322570&sid=BIC&xid=e52c73c2. Accessed 15 Nov. 2018.

 

Final version with corrections.

"Hatshepsut."Encyclopedia of World Biography, Detroit, Gale, 12 Dec. 1998. Biography In Context. Accessed 15 Nov. 2018.

 

"The Philosophy of Greek Medicine." Science and Its Times, edited by Neil Schlager and Josh Lauer, vol. 1, Gale, 2001. Biography In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CV2643450071/BIC?u=tlc041322570&sid=BIC&xid=40c18ee3. Accessed 15 Nov. 2018.

 

Final version with corrections. 

"The Philosophy of Greek Medicine." Science and Its Times, edited by Neil Schlager and Josh Lauer, vol. 1, Detroit, Gale, 2001. Biography In Context. Accessed 15 Nov. 2018.

 

"On the Imitation of Man." American Decades Primary Sources, edited by Cynthia Rose, vol. 2: 1910-1919, Gale, 2004, pp. 345-347. Biography In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3490200325/BIC?u=tlc041322570&sid=BIC&xid=b76c5b50. Accessed 15 Nov. 2018.

 

Final version with corrections. 

"On the Imitation of Man." American Decades Primary Sources: 1910-1919, edited by Cynthia Rose, vol. 2, Detroit, Gale, 2004, pp. 345-47. Biography In Context. Accessed 15 Nov. 2018